The village of Tymkiv near Otrokiv in the late 18th and early 19th centuries was part of the Mynkivtsi state of Count Ignatsiy Scibor Markhotskyi. According to a legend, the village arose on the site of the settlement of Raigorod, which existed here in the 12th century and was destroyed by the hordes of Khan Batu. All residents of Raigorod were slaughtered, but one of the people named Tymko managed to escape. Tymko cut through thickets and built himself a house. The name of the settlement seems to have come from him.
The only attraction of the village is the church of St. John the Evangelist. Its predecessor has been here since 1709 and was dismantled in 1855. The next year, a new stone temple was built in its place, which has survived to this day.